iOS Data Recovery

How to Turn off iCloud Photo Library without Deleting Photos

iCloud Photo Library is the service supplied by Apple to save all photos and videos into iCloud so that you can have access to these photos and videos on all Apple devices with the same iCloud account. But the free iCloud storage offered by Apple is only 5GB. The photos saved in the iCloud Photo Library would take up a lot of space. That’s why you may need to turn off the iCloud Photo Library. However, some users will start to worry about losing photos after that. Never mind, this article shows you how to turn off the iCloud photo library without deleting photos on iPhone/Mac.

Part 1. Turn off iCloud Photo Library without Deleting Photos on Mac

If you need to disable the iCloud Photo Library on your Mac, just follow the process below.

Step 1. Click on ‘Photos’ on the dock and select ‘Photos’ in the upper left corner.

Step 2. Hit the ‘Reference’ option and tap on ‘iCloud’.

Step 3. Select the option of ‘iCloud Photo Library’ and ‘Download Originals to this Mac’, this will ensure that all the photos are downloaded on your computer.

How to Turn off iCloud Photo Library without Deleting Photos

Note: If you have selected ‘Optimize Mac Store’ before, you‘ll need to deselect this option and select the option of ‘Download Originals to this Mac’. When the syncing process is done, deselect the ‘iCloud Photo Library’ to proceed.

Part 2. Turn off iCloud Photo Library without Deleting Photos on iPhone

To turn off the iCloud Photo Library on iPhone without deleting photos, go to Settings, click your name > iCloud > Photos > iCloud Photo Library to turn it off.

The option of ‘Remove from iPhone’ and ‘Download Photos & Videos’ will pop up. Click ‘Download Photos & Videos’ and everything will be downloaded from the iCloud Photo Library to local iPhone storage.

How to Turn off iCloud Photo Library without Deleting Photos

Note: Sufficient storage should be guaranteed if you select the option of ‘Download Photos & Videos’, since all the files saved within iCloud Photo Library will be transferred to the iPhone storage.

Tip: Backup iPhone Before Turning off iCloud Photo Library

We suggest you make a full backup of your iPhone data to prevent potential data loss before disabling the iCloud Photo Library on your iPhone.

What you need is a 3rd-party tool to flexibly backup your iPhone data. This tool is called iOS Data Backup & Restore. Why do we recommend this tool? You’ll know the reasons after checking the exclusive advantages below:

  • 1-click to backup the whole thing on your iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch. All the backup files will be securely kept without being overwritten.
  • Selectively backup any data and restore the backup to iPhone/Android without deleting the previous data.
  • You can also export these files to your computer to edit or print.

Free Download

Steps to Backup iPhone before Turning off iCloud Photo Library

You can refer to the simple steps below:

Step 1. Run the software and you’ll see the ‘Phone Backup’ option from the tool list. Select it to proceed.

How to Turn off iCloud Photo Library without Deleting Photos

Step 2. Hit the ‘Backup’ button on this window.

How to Turn off iCloud Photo Library without Deleting Photos

Step 3. It supports to back up multiple data types for your device, including photos, videos, contacts, text messages, notes, etc. Choose the data based on your need and hit ‘Backup’.

How to Turn off iCloud Photo Library without Deleting Photos

Step 4. When the backup process is finished, the selected data will be listed. You can opt to preview these files or export them to a computer.

How to Turn off iCloud Photo Library without Deleting Photos

The photos will be safely kept on your computer so that you can turn off the iCloud Photo Library without deleting photos. You can also backup these photos or export them to the computer with iOS Data Backup & Restore software when you are in need.

Free Download

Related Articles

Back to top button